Honorary Doctors

This page contains a list of Honorary Doctors at Uppsala University with a connection to the field of peace and conflict research. 

Professor I. William Zartman

Jacob Blaustein Professor Emeritus, Johns Hopkins University, Washington, D.C

Professor I. William Zartman

The well-known researcher of conflict resolution Professor I. William Zartman was installed as honorary doctor of Uppsala University at the Winter Conferment ceremony on January 26, 2018. 

Professor Zartman is the Jacob Blaustein Professor Emeritus at the Johns Hopkins University, in Washington, D.C. He is prominent in the PIN research network (Process of International Negotiations). He is author and editor of a wide range of books dealing with pertinent topics, notably mediation, conflict resolution, deadly conflict and genocide. He has been a frequent visitor to the Department over the past 25 years, including serving as external examiner, lecturer, supervisor and researcher, presently being involved in the project Resolving Jihadist Conflicts? He has made concepts such as ’ripe for resolution’ and ’hurting stalemate’ researchable contributions to the field. 

Dr hc Tor Sellström

Senior Researcher, Nordic Africa Institute, Uppsala

Professor Peter Wallensteen, Doctor hc Tor Sellström, Professor Thomas Ohlson
Doctor hc Tor Sellström (m) after the official promotion ceremony together with Professor Peter Wallensteen (l) and Professor Thomas Ohlson (r).

In the Promotion Ceremony on Friday 28 January 2011, the Faculty of Social Sciences at Uppsala University awarded to Tor Sellström (b. 1946) the title and diploma of Honorary Doctor. Tor Sellström has worked in or on Africa, particularly Southern Africa since 1977, mainly as a development bureaucrat, policy maker and practitioner for Swedish Development Cooperation (Sida) and the Swedish MFA, but also for local NGOs and research institutes. His work has covered areas such as liberation, state formation, nation-building, democratisation and sustainable development. He is the author of many publications in these areas.

Sellström received the degree of Doctor honoris causa (D.h.c.) for his monumental research on the liberation struggles in Southern Africa, and for successfully bridging the fields of academia, policy and practice. 

Linnaeus Dr hc Kofi Annan

Secretary-General, United Nations 1997-2006

Louise Olsson, Isak Svensson, Kofi Annan, Desiree Nilsson, Peter Wallensteen
The Promotion Event, May 27, 2007. From left: Louise Olsson, Isak Svensson, Kofi Annan, Desiree Nilsson, Peter Wallensteen.

Dr Kofi Annan has a long and distinguished career as an international civil servant within the United Nations. He received Nobel Peace Prize in 2001. He was promoted Dr hc in May 2007 on the occasion of the 300th anniversary of botantist Carlus Linnaeus, Carl von Linné.

Dr hc Jan Eliasson

Former Swedish Minister of Foreign Affairs 

Jan Eliasson has been Sweden’s Minister for Foreign Affairs (2006) and was President of the sixtieth session of the United Nations General Assembly (2005-06). He was Sweden’s Ambassador to the United States (2000-05), and State Secretary for Foreign Affairs 1994-2000. He was appointed Honorary Doctor of Philosophy at Uppsala University in January 2006. During the first half of 2007 and 2008 he served as Visiting Professor at the Department of Peace and Conflict Research, Uppsala University. He has written on conflict prevention issues.

Prof Dr hc Bruce M. Russett

Dean Acheson Professor of International Relations and Political Science, Yale University, editor of Journal of Conflict Resolution.

Among his contribution to peace research is also his work on the Democratic Peace, later expanded to be the Kantian Peace. He became Honorary Doctor of Uppsala University, January 25, 2002.

Prof Dr hc Tickner, J. Ann

Professor, University of Southern California

Author of the path-setting work Gender in International Relations 1992, President of the International Studies Association 2006-07. Professor Tickner became Honorary Doctor of Uppsala University in 1999.

Prof Dr hc Johan Galtung


Founder of the International Peace Institute, Oslo (PRIO) 1959 and the Journal of Peace Research 1964, prolific writer on peace research and on public affairs, became Honorary Doctor at Uppsala University in 1987.

Senast uppdaterad: 2023-01-05